last posts

The gluten-free diet: what to eat?

 The gluten-free diet: what to eat?

When the lining of the small intestine of people with gluten intolerance comes into contact with it, an abnormal immune reaction occurs and gradually destroys the intestinal wall. Unfortunately, the only available solution is to avoid products that contain gluten. An inventory of gluten alternatives is preferred in this case.


Does not contain gluten...Flour flour

Legume flours (beans, chickpeas, lentils, pea flour, and legume puree) are excellent alternatives to oats, wheat or wheat, spelt, spelt, rye and barley flours that contain gluten.


These flours have a much higher nutritional value than rice and corn flour, and are often used as a substitute. A cup of chickpea flour contains 6.8 mg of iron versus 0.6 mg for the same amount of white rice flour! Legumes are rich in fiber, protein, vitamins and minerals and low in fat. In addition, it improves the texture of bakery products and their moisture increases the shelf life of these same products.


No gluten in...potatoes

Potatoes contain much more starch (complex carbohydrates) than most vegetables. That's why some nutritionists believe it should be considered more than a starch, like bread and pasta. This is also the reason for the misconception that it contains gluten. It contains a large amount of vitamins and minerals as well as other compounds with health benefits. So it has its place in a well-balanced, gluten-free diet. Moreover, in starch form, cake softens and is an excellent binder for sauces.



Does not contain gluten in ... dairy products

Milk and its derivatives (yogurt, cream, cheese, etc.) do not contain gluten and are an excellent source of calcium and vitamin D, which is essential for bone health. However, sometimes gluten intolerance is accompanied by lactose intolerance, especially when a person has very severe gastrointestinal symptoms. In this case, evaluation with a nutritionist makes it possible to assess the level of intolerance.


Some types of cheese, especially processed cheese, may contain gluten. Blues, Roquefort and Gorgonzola are traditionally grown on bread, but today this procedure is done chemically, so they no longer contain gluten. However, vigilance is necessary because some farms still maintain ancient practices.


Does not contain gluten...Fresh fruits

A person on a gluten-free diet may lack dietary fiber because most grain products are excluded. Consuming the fruit can remedy this potential deficiency. It is necessary to prefer fresh fruits over juices because they contain more fiber.


Particular care should be taken with dried fruits because the carriers used in their packaging are often dusted with flour to prevent them from sticking to each other.


Does not contain gluten...eggs

Fried, boiled, hard or in an omelet, eggs do not contain gluten and are very high in protein. However, adding protein to certain recipes gives the products more consistency. They provide a good nutritional amount of vitamins D, B2, and B12 and contain thiamine, a vitamin mainly found in grains.


However, eggs, along with milk, are one of the main causes of food allergies.


Does not contain gluten...rice

When you are intolerant to gluten, rice is an essential ally. Whether they are red, white, brown or whole, they are highly nutritious and the staple food of many cultures. It is a very good alternative to pasta.


It should be noted that despite its name, glutinous rice does not contain gluten: it is a form of sticky rice, produced in Laos and Thailand, and is distinguished by its zero amylose content and high amylopectin content. In contrast, wild rice is closer to oats, which have reservations about its safety for people with celiac disease.


Rice flour can replace wheat flour in making bread and cake.


Does not contain gluten...Quinoa

Quinoa, unlike rice and wheat, quinoa is considered a "pseudo grain." With a unique taste, it contains a large amount of high-quality protein, polyunsaturated fatty acids and many micronutrients. It does not contain gluten but care must be taken as it can be "contaminated" by gluten-containing grains, in the fields, during transport, grain handling or at the time of milling.


That's why it's important to choose products made with quinoa that are certified gluten-free. Unfortunately, not all gluten-free foods display this symbol, hence the importance of knowing how to read labels to identify potential sources of gluten.


No gluten in ... buckwheat

Like quinoa, buckwheat is generally referred to as a "pseudo grain," because unlike a traditional grain, it does not belong to the grass family. For this reason, its nutritional composition is different: it is gluten-free and rich in protein. However, care must be taken when choosing certified gluten-free products because there is a risk of contamination with the grains that contain them.


The famous Breton buckwheat pancakes are also a must-see! For economic reasons, buckwheat flour is often shredded with wheat flour ... so it is better to make it at home.


No gluten in... soybeans

Soybeans (or soybeans) do not contain gluten and are of great nutritional benefit because they are a non-meat protein source. Available in oil, syrup, tofu or miso, it is one of the richest natural foods because it contains a large amount of protein, carbohydrates, fats and micronutrients.


On the other hand, shoyu, known as "soy sauce," contains gluten: a sauce made from fermented soybeans and roasted, fermented, and aged breakfast cereals.


No gluten in...chocolate

Chocolate is one of the foods richest in flavonoid antioxidants. Although it contains saturated fat, it is mainly stearic acid, a fat that is said to have beneficial effects on the cardiovascular level.


People with celiac disease (= gluten intolerance) can eat chocolate provided it does not contain grains, flour, malt liquor, or any other ingredients that could leave traces of gluten, such as flour-coated walnuts. So it is very important to read the ingredients list carefully before purchasing this type of food.

Comments



Font Size
+
16
-
lines height
+
2
-